Latest developments in handheld PMI technologies

June 20, 2024
Many material verification issues in midstream (pipeline) and downstream (refineries) facilities can be addressed with handheld XRF and LIBS analysis. These PMI technologies assist in the commissioning process and in retroactive inspection of existing assets.

June 20, 2024
10:00 AM ET / 9:00 AM CT / 7:00 AM PT / 3:00 PM GMT 
 
Duration: 1 hour
Already registered? Click here to log in. 

Summary 

Material verification programs are essential to ensure safety in oil & gas facilities. Over the past decades, handheld x-ray fluorescence (XRF) and laser induced breakdown spectroscopy (LIBS) have been established as technologies of choice for positive material identification (PMI) in the commissioning process or for retroactive inspection of existing assets.  
 
In this webinar we will cover general material verification issues in midstream (pipeline) and downstream (refineries) facilities using handheld PMI technologies. 

 
The attendees will: 

  • Learn the working principles of XRF and LIBS technologies 
  • Understand the relationship of these technologies to standards in the O&G industry such as API Recommended Practice 578 or the PHMSA Mega Rule 
  • Learn the latest improvements in handheld XRF and LIBS technologies along with how to choose the right one for specific PMI applications 
  • Hear practical examples and use cases for handheld XRF and LIBS analysis 


Who should attend: Anyone involved in material verification programs at O&G facilities such as: 

  • Project managers 
  • Operators of inspections companies 
  • Employees in material verification departments 
  • HSE and operations managers of pipeline operators or refineries

Speakers

Mathieu Bauer 
Senior application scientist and associate product manager, Field and Safety Instruments 
Thermo Fisher Scientific 


Mathieu Bauer holds a PhD in analytical chemistry from the University of Hamburg. He has over 20 years of experience working with spectroscopy including handheld X-ray fluorescence (HHXRF) and laser induced breakdown spectroscopy (LIBS). 

Sponsored by: