Electric power company appointments, June 17

El Paso Energy Corp. Inc. ... Dynegy Inc. ... AmeriGas Propane Inc. ... Catalytica Inc. ... American Transmission Co. ... Reliant Energy Communications ... Niagara Mohawk Power Co. ... NUI Corp. ... Entergy Inc. ... Washington Gas Light Co. ... Federal Energy Regulatory Commission ... NiSource Inc. ... Atmos Energy Corp. ... Texas Independent Energy ... Sempra Energy

El Paso Energy Corp. Inc., Houston, named Clark C. Smith president of El Paso Merchant Energy Co., the company's energy sales, trading, and risk management unit. Smith will oversee power generation investments and the integration of El Paso's merchant functions with those of Coastal Corp. when the two companies complete their merger later this year. Greg G. Jenkins was named president and CEO of El Paso Global Networks Co., a recently formed telecommunications unit. He will be in charge of implementing El Paso' telecommunications strategy.

Dynegy Inc., Houston, promoted Griff Jones to vice-president, power trading, with responsibility for physical and short-term trading in the eastern half of the US. David Keane was named to the newly created post of vice-president of European governmental affairs. He was most recently senior director of governmental affairs. In his new post, Keane will lead Dynegy's legislative and regulatory activities associated with the European Union's liberalization of power and natural gas markets.

AmeriGas Propane Inc., Valley Forge, Pa., general partner of AmeriGas Partners LP, promoted Eugene V. N. Bissell to president and CEO from senior vice-president, sales and marketing. He was also elected a director. Lon R. Greenburg will remain chairman of the company.

Catalytica Inc., Mountain View, Calif., said Craig N. Kitchen has joined the company as president and CEO from the Triumph Group, where he served as corporate vice-president. Dennis Orwig, formerly president and CEO, will serve as executive consultant to the board.

American Transmission Co. LLC, Milwaukee, named Walter T. Woelfle vice-president-legal and corporate secretary. He was formerly with Nuclear Management Co. Donald J. Morrow was named director of systems operations; Teresa Mogensen, director of transmission planning and service; Arnie Vaske, manager of accounting; Jeff Rauh, manager of customer and regulatory relations; Malcolm Bertsch, principal analyst for strategy and tariffs; Janet Gallert, human resources director; Ken Copp, engineering and construction director; and Robert Ulmer, administration and technology director.

Reliant Energy Inc. unit Reliant Energy Communications, Houston, named Geary Broadnax, senior vice-president, sales and marketing; and David Power, senior vice-president, technology and network operations. Broadnax and Power were cofounders of Insync Internet Services, which was acquired by Reliant Communications in April.

Niagara Mohawk Power Co., Syracuse, NY, promoted Susan Crossett to executive director, government and regulatory relations. Joseph M Russo was named vice-president, public affairs and communications. He joined Niagara from the Hertz Corp., where he served as corporate affairs director.

NUI Corp., Bedminster, NJ, named George Koodray director of public affairs. He was most recently group manager, US public relations, for Lucent Technologies Inc. NUI operates natural gas utilities in six states on the eastern US seaboard.

Entergy Inc., New Orleans, has named Nancy Morovich, vice-president, investor relations. She succeeds E. Renae, who was recently promoted to president and CEO of Entergy Louisiana. Theo Bunting, formerly controller, utility operations, was named chief financial officer of utility operations.

Washington Gas Light Co., Washington, DC, elected Debra L. Lee, president and chief operating officer of BET Holdings II, to the board of directors. BET owns and operates Black Entertainment Televison and other entertainment, publishing, and internet ventures.

The US Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, Washington, DC, named Dennis Lane solicitor. He was formerly with the Washington law firm of Morrison & Hecker LLP. W. Scott Miller III was appointed director of energy markets in the Office of Markets, Tariffs, and Rates. He has been director of regional transmission policy coordination for PG&E National Energy Group, a PG&E Corp. unit.

NiSource Inc., Merrillville, Ind., named James M. Clarke vice-president, risk management and capital allocation. Kevin Kremke was named principal, market risk; and Roger Bongiovanni, principal, operations and credit risk. Gregory Martinsen was appointed vice-president, project development, at NiSource unit Primary Energy.

Atmos Energy Corp.,Dallas, appointed Fred E. Meisenheimer vice-president and controller of the natural gas and propane distributor, which serves more than 1 million customers in 13 states. He was formerly controller of Vartec Telecom Inc.

Texas Independent Energy, Dallas, a joint venture of Panda Energy International Inc. and PSEG Global, an indirect subsidiary of Public Service Enterprise Group, named James C. Collins vice-president of business development. Byron T. Gannaway was named vice-president, energy management.

Sempra Energy, San Diego, reported Group Vice-Pres. Warren I. Mitchell retired after 42 years with the company. He also served as chairman of Sempra subsidiary San Diego Gas & Electric Co. and chairman and president of Southern California Gas Co.

More in General Interest