Murphy Oil makes executive changes

By OGJ editors
HOUSTON, Aug. 7 -- Murphy Oil Corp. announced that Claiborne P. Deming, president and chief executive officer of the company since 1994, will retire effective Dec. 31. Diming will be succeeded by David M. Wood, who currently serves as Murphy's executive vice-president, worldwide exploration and production operations.

Deming will continue as a member of Murphy's board and will succeed William Nolan as chairman of the board's executive committee. Nolan will remain board chairman.

Wood joined the company in 1994 and has held several positions including vice-president and senior vice-president of frontier E&P and president of Murphy Exploration & Production Co. In January 2007, Wood became executive vice-president with responsibility for the company's E&P operations. He will assume his new duties as president and CEO effective Jan. 1, 2009.

To access this Article, go to: